Is Kosher Gelatin Halal?

The answer is, it depends on the source of the gelatin. If it is from slaughtered kosher meat, it would be halal since the meat is halal. If it is from fish or vegetarian sources, it is of course halal.

If however it is from pig or an unslaughtered animal, ‘kosher gelatin’ would not be halal. This would have to be ascertained by the appropriate source (whether the company or the Rabbi that approves, etc).

And Allah knows best.

Answered By: Shaykh Faraz Rabbani

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.